World Tournaments

The World Golf Championships are a set of four annual men’s golf tournaments for professionals created by the PGA circuits, in fact, these four tournaments are recognized by the three leading associations: PGA Tour, European Tour PGA, and Japan Golf Tour. These four tournaments are:

  • World championship match-play
  • WGC-Mexico Championship
  • WGC-Bridgestone Invitational
  • WGC-HSBC Champions

This event began in 1999, although the Bridgestone Invitational succeeded the former World Series of Golf tournament (created in 1976). The goal of this event is to allow the top-ranked golfers on the circuits to compete together outside the Grand Slam tournaments. Although these four tournaments remain in the shadow of the four Grand Slam tournaments, the best players in the world participate in them each year, notably due to the prizes of the competitions that are among the highest, at the same time, players have the opportunity to score many points for the standings. Tiger Woods is the golfer who has won the most tournaments put into play with 18 wins.

  1. World championship match-play

The World Match Play Championship is one of four World Golf Championships Annually. From its inception in 1999 until 2006, it has been held annually at the Costa Resort and Spa in Carlsbad, California, except for the 2001 edition held at the Metropolitan Golf Club in Victoria, Australia.

Beginning in 2007, the tournament moved to Arizona, on the course of the Gallery Golf Club in Marana, near Tucson. In 2009, the tournament once again moved to the Ritz-Carlton Golf Club, a course designed by Jack Nicklaus near Marana.

Played in a match-play match, he pitted the 64 best golfers against the world rankings. This competition is an integral part of the three primary circuits of the professional men’s golf, the PGA Tour, the European Tour PGA, and the Japan Golf Tour.

All games are played over 18 holes except the final which is played over 36 holes. A small final between the two defeated semifinals determines the third place in the tournament. The first round takes place on Wednesday, with one round per day until Friday. On Saturday, the quarterfinals and the 1/2 finals take place. The final and third-place match is held on Sunday to conclude the tournament.

  1. WGC-Mexico Championship

The WGC-Mexico Championship is one of four World Golf Championships Annually Founded in 1999, the tournament was also known as the WGC-American Express Championship from 1999 to 2006, and the WGC-Cadillac Championship from 2007 to 2016.

From 1999 to 2006, it was held at various golf courses in Europe and the United States, and from 2007 to 2016 at Doral Golf Resort & Spa in Doral, Florida. Since 2017 it is played in Mexico City and has taken the name of WGC-Mexico Championship. It is part of the two significant circuits of World golf, the PGA Tour and the European Tour PGA. Tiger Woods is the Record Man in wins: he has won the tournament seven times in eighteen editions, and this on six different courses.

  1. WGC-Bridgestone Invitational

The WGC-Bridgestone Invitational is one of four annual World Golf Championships tournaments. This tournament, also known as the WGC-NEC Invitational in the past, took over from the World Series of Golf in 1999. The tournament is held at the Firestone Country Club in Akron, Ohio. It is part of the two significant circuits of World golf, the PGA Tour and the European Tour PGA.

  1. WGC-HSBC Champions

The WGC-HSBC Champions is one of four annual World Golf Championships. The HSBC Champions is a golf tournament that has existed since 2005. Held in November on the course of the Sheshan Golf Club in Shanghai, it is on the schedule of four professional golf circuits: The European Tour PGA, the Asian Tour, The Sunshine Tour and the PGA Tour of Australasia. Since 2009, the tournament has been part of the World Golf Championships.

The tournament is named after HSBC Bank, which is headquartered in London. She is also the main sponsor of a tournament on the LPGA Tour, the HSBC Women’s Champions, held in Singapore.

The company has had sponsorship activities in the past. During the period 2003-07, it was the main sponsor of the HSBC World Match Play Championship, a match play tournament. During the period 2005-07, she played the same role on the women’s circuit with the HSBC Women’s World Match Play Championship.